I need new dreams


I have always dreamed of being a mum, in fact all my childhood fantasies had centered on prince charming and babies. But what never crossed my mind once was the thought of being a stay at home mum. My expectation has centered on being a woman juggling career and motherhood, definitely not a tired looking mama covered in baby puree and cereal all day long.
Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for my lovely baby and I will never trade her for anything in this world, but my perception of motherhood has been greatly altered. Friends, I have been actively searching for a job for 6 months with no success; this has tried my patience so much, it has made me angry at myself, at God and anyone who crosses my path.
Before I got pregnant, I was a perfect career woman who prided herself in her skills of being a journalist and writer. My job was the only thing that managed to boost my self worth, but now that all I do everyday is feeding my adorable child and doing uncountable house chores and binge on soap operas, I ask myself” who am I?.
Am I still the same Tolulope that was so focused, am I still that desirable woman that married almost 2 years ago, am I still that girl that loves God so much. As I ask myself this, I realize that even though I am still the same person,but my dreams have changed. God wants me to dream new dreams, He wants me to take pride in who I am today and bring out positivity. I need to dream new dreams, can I do that?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JenniferA
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 10:03:45

    Yes, you can dream new dreams. Also, try to explore work-from-home options, which is what I’m currently doing.

    Reply

  2. Tola adeyinka
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 10:09:59

    God is your strength even at a time such as this. He will perfect all that concerns you. His timing for your dreams to manifest will be perfect. Not earlier than His will, not later. In Jesus name. Amen.

    Reply

Leave a comment