My journey to Motherhood


The last time I wrote anything on this blog was in March, and if I remember accurately, it was on Waiting. Can I hear you say March, yes, that sounds like a lifetime away. That post was written from my desperate search for answers to why as a young bride, I had to face serious challenges headlong. That March was when medical diagnosis of all sorts piled at my doorstep, when tears were what I used every morning to greet God. March was a month when I decided to lay down my frantic attempts , when I stopped calling on pastors for answers, when I stopped questioning God as to why my expectations were suddenly cut short. That March was when God planted in me a seed of joy, a seed I didn’t know could ever be planted, a seed that myself and hubby had no idea it was coming. After series of tests and one pregnancy kit that said Negative, God revealed Himself by blessing us with our bundle of joy. That day, I discovered that am going to be a mum was the happiest day of my life, I remembered that I kept asking the doctor how possible it was after the bleaky diagnosis, he shrugged his shoulders and said, “Miracles happen, yours just did”.
Hubby was so escastic that he told me not to do any house chores again, not to stress myself again, (he is such a darling).
My friends, with every miracle comes a threat from the evil one, March was the month of my miracle and the month when the real battle started.
The devil tried in several ways to snatch away my joy, from a very sickly 1st trimester to bloody show at the start of my 2nd trimester. Weeks upon weeks, I lay on the hospital bed, terrible fear threatened my faith in God, to be honest then, I couldn’t even remember any line of scripture. Medical reports from different doctors made my heart spin with doubt, uncontrollable tears and depression were what the devil used to taunt me day and night. But in the midst of all this, God remained God, He is not alarmed at all, despite my childish tantrums, He kept my seed all through, with each scan, He kept reassuring me that Nothing shall harm my young, sometimes on my bed, I could feel His gentle touch soothing and telling me that He shall keep all my bones and my baby’s , none of them shall be missing. With Each day of the compulsory bedrest, God kept on working on my heart, charging me to completely trust in Him, that He is not a man that will lie neither is He a son of man that will repent. With the weeks slowly rolling by, hubby and I learnt to stand on God’s word and rebuke the devil, we learnt to turn our eyes away from doctors report to the author and finisher of our faith. On our 1st year wedding anniversary , God of all universe moved strongly on my behalf, my very own daughter made her truimphant entry into the world, her birth silenced the devil’s mouth, brought extraordinary joy into my life. My daughter, did I just say this, my daughter is a blessing everyday.
In this journey to motherhood, God blessed my family with the love of so many wonderful people. People that stood on God’s Word along with us, my parents, they are just the best, I won’t ever forget your endless sacrifice. I love you guys forever. I have a mother in law, whom I choose to call my mother because she is, her faith in God amazes me everyday, yeye oko mi, am so grateful, I love you so much. To my siblings, you guys rock my world everyday, your comforting words to your steadfast prayers made me believe again in the sanctity of family.
I have sisters that we are bound not by physical blood but by the blood of Jesus Christ, these sisters of mine keep showing me a new dimension to sisterhood everyday, Sister Buky Ojelabi, I won’t ever be able to repay your kindness, is it your prayers to your words of advice to your sacrifice in getting all my baby’s things . Am so so overwhelmed by your love and kindness, God keep you and your family. I have another sister called Nike Olanipekun, hmmmmmn, she is indeed my sister, days don’t roll by that she doesn’t check on me, bombard me with prayers, charging me to be strong. I am grateful sis.
I once thought that about this particular person , how unworthy I am to have her love and support, she is Dr Funke Akinmade, she and her spouse just love me, I try to find out why, I just don’t have a clue. Sis, words will never be enough to appreciate you for your love, you are the best.
Lastly, am grateful to every of my friends here on the blog that kept me in their minds even when they had no clue to what was happening, I can’t ever take you all for granted. I love you. Welcome to my world of motherhood.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tola adeyinka
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 06:58:44

    Congratulations dear. Victory is yours always.

    Reply

  2. JenniferAbayowa
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 07:33:58

    Congratulations. Wow. Beautiful testimony.

    Reply

  3. JenniferAbayowa
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 07:35:27

    Congratulations. Wow. Beautiful testimony . His rod & His staff were with you all the way.

    Reply

  4. Tolu O
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 01:17:42

    CONGRATULATIONS, WOW!!!! I thank God for you, your husband, your lovely family and friends, who have shown us all what a community of faith should look like. God bless them all.

    Forever, the word of God concerning you and yours is settled, as firmly fixed as the heavens and the enemy will not prevail against you for you are in God

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 02:10:36

      My sake, a big amen to your prayers. Am so appreciative of all the times you asked of me even I couldn’t reply. God bless you and keep you Tolu

      Reply

  5. Funmi
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 15:12:27

    Comgratulations! God is indeed a miracle working God!

    Reply

  6. santachronicles
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 19:09:49

    Congratulations my blogging egbon. I always visited during the periods you were away and always wondered why there was no new post. Checked up as usual today and saw this. God bless and keep her, continually providing all that you’ll need to nurture her into HIS leading lady. Amen.

    Reply

  7. BUKY
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 16:21:40

    Tolu, you are blessed and highly favored. Words cannot express the joy we feel for your family. Thank you for allowing us to share in your journey and to partake of what God is doing in your life. God is indeed merciful and a good God. I have seen close up how God has transformed your life and He is not done with you yet.

    Congrats on the arrival of your princess, my regards to Seyi and more blessing to your entire family.

    Tolu, once you keep your eyes on Him, you will never have any problem that is too much for you to handle.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 21:54:29

      Sis mi, I thank God for the day I met you, what a favoured it was. Thanks for the prayers, love, am so so grateful. God keep you and bless you sis

      Reply

  8. Bomi
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 20:49:05

    CONGRATULATIONS:)! I am absolutely delighted to hear your wonderful news! Praise God, Praise God, Praise God! Coincidentally, my last post also featured testimonies & miracles (5 Powerful Testimonies & Miracles). Praise God for answered prayers! Kisses to the little one, much love to your entire family!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 21:55:59

      Ese ganni oo sis Bomi. God is a good God no matter what the world may say. Am so glad that He upheld me and still upholding me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

