Not a bad idea


I hate the word ‘Waiting’!! thank God I said it out at last. It is heartbreaking, it brings me high dose of nervousness, it makes me cry, it exposes my vulnerability to people and most especially to God. It shows my sense of not being in control, if you are like me, then I am relieved that am not alone in this. Whenever I  hear the word ‘Patience’ or ‘Waiting’,  what  usually comes  along with it , is lot of squirming and pain because I happen to be born in a microwave generation , a generation that wants things done in a split second, one that has no tolerance for processes or a long plan. I have been conditioned from the womb to dislike anything that looks like waiting, my orientation has been tuned to having things land on my laps as soon as I open my mouth to ask for it.

This obvious dislike for patience is what makes me most times run life on the fast track, it is what makes me try to play god in any situation that arise.

Waiting for me includes not getting a better job quickly, loads of prayer points still pending  at God’s door,  disappointing situations that make me so weak , issues that apparently refuse to let go , habits that I love to drop but still clinging to my hem. As you all know I got married few months ago with high levels of expectations, naturally believing that the world will drop still at my feet because I am now a  Mrs. , but I have come to know that in every situation I need to do some waiting.

Waiting on God is something I have been learning to do since I signed the dotted lines, waiting on Him is something He needs to teach me to be strong , it is what I have to go through to become a better person. Though God still works in present dramatic ways , He however loves to take us through long periods of being still in His presence , seasons  of  helplessness that we might know and crave His awesomeness.

I usually believe that waiting is a sign of been punished for something that I have done against God, I have grown up to believe that waiting is some awkward word used only for the unfortunate but I am so wrong because in waiting I find strength, in waiting I find God, in waiting I find eternal peace. Though everyday that I wait , it is a difficult thing to do, I barely find strength to go through a whole day before I dissolve into doubt, but with every line of doubt , there is a huge amount of faith being released into my system. At the end of the day, waiting is not such a bad idea.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dami
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 11:29:07

    God bless you for this post!

    Reply

  2. Marie
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 11:35:19

    Tolu has done it again! Well done love!

    However, try not to stay away for so long before putting up another post…

    xoxoxoxo

    Reply

  3. akinolamide
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 12:44:05

    nice…

    Reply

  4. AWE, ADEREMI
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:59:13

    Tolu, as usual, this a masterpiece. It is not your story alone; is the story of everyone of your generation. The Book of Isaiah 40:31 suffices, “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint”. Habakkuk 2:3 also compliments, by saying, “For the vision is yet for an appointed time, but at the end it shall speak, and not lie: though it tarry, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.” Whenever i fall into the fit of ‘impatience’, i remind myself that waiting on Him is a win-win situation. God will grant us the grace to be able to wait on Him. We will not be wise in our own eyes in Jesus name, amen. God bless ma.

    Reply

  5. The DNW
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 16:18:05

    Love your post especially cos my heart has just been opened to a new understanding of the word – contentment, godly contentment and your post feeds into it, I think ”waiting” is a part of Contentment. People think being content means you are satisfied with your current situation but it doesn’t. Being content in a godly way just means you see your cup as beautifully half full while you hold on to hope that the change you seek is on the way.

    Reply

  6. JenniferAbayowa
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 01:55:50

    This is a lesson God has been teaching me since last year. Oh no, waiting is definitely not for the less fortunate but for the brave. It takes courage not to settle for less but to wait for the perfect. It takes extra bravery to trust God that He will show up just at the right time, even when that time is not now. And as we wait, we soar like eagles and sift through giant storms as if we’re sailing over calm waters.

    Reply

  7. FlourishingPillar
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:32:59

    thank you!

    Reply

  8. TITILAYO SORETIRE
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 20:50:51

    Kudos! I admire your strenght Ω̴̩̩̩̥ Courage…your write up į̸̸̨§ a blessing but to b honest with you, i aint enjoyn dis stage of ma life,wish it could pass now! Its lonely,boring,emotion sapping,tormentful,painful Ω̴̩̩̩̥ depressing.i want all ma petitions granted now! I don’t ever want to be the one threading this part! don’t want to be an instrument in the hands of ‘waiting’ anymore! The waiting room į̸̸̨§ miserable! Pls don’t publish this…

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 25, 2012 @ 22:31:35

      Titi, please you re not alone in this at all, I must confess that the waiting room is one energy sapping one, it is a lonely one sef but again I remember we are not alone at all cos God is with us in every step of the way

      Reply

  9. Bukkie
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 20:53:03

    Some few days back i was thinking…has marriage taken the creativity away or how long are we going to wait to have a glimpse of those inspiring write-ups again, but i was so wrong you have done it again. This is a really nice piece and i’ll like to say welcome back and don’t let us wait for this long again

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 08:58:23

      Hhahahaaaa, Bukky. Marriage of course will never get in the way of what God has deposited in me. I am glad that you are blessed. My congrulations are in order.

      Reply

  10. femmelounge
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 16:05:38

    sometimes we do all we should do and things still don’t align like they should. its tough on us, but that’s the way life rolls sometimes. Keep holding on to God dear, He’s got all the answers.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 10:25:25

      Sister mi, i sigh deeply as I read your comment, doing all the good works doesnt automatically mean that everything we ask for is going to drop to our laps. That is so true, waiting is one mystery we might never understand.

      Reply

  11. Tolu O
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 18:20:02

    Like you, waiting is not an activity I would be elated to undergo. However, in that period of waiting, where it seems like God has abandoned me, when it feels like my prayers are echoing back at me and it seems like inanimate objects like the walls are mocking me as I pray, I have learned quite a bit about God and myself.

    Thanks much for the post and for detailing these necessary struggles

    I have learned to use such periods to free myself of the unnecessary structures I have put my faith in, I begin to see that most of the activities (including church activities) I naturally engage in cannot by themselves sustain me.

    I like to use such periods to engage in silence and solitude, to put on my boxing gloves and get in the ring with an invisible God :), to bare my soul, my anger, my frustrations, my hopes, my darkness, and my joys before Him

    During this season, I mostly learn to sit down and rest in His love (by faith, cos sometimes u just don’t feel it). I picture life as this room with a table and 2 chairs, one for God, one for me (or you).

    During “good” times we are running around the room and giving God a hi-5 as we do laps, we rarely sit still long enough with Him. We get a small revelation and/or small peace and we are out trying to outgun and outrun ourselves.

    But it is in those periods when we are dead tired, when life has lost its luster that we get to sit down – this is why sometimes God has to break us to help us. This is why God requires death to self for us to go deeper in Him.

    Now the waiting begins, but it is not in vain, it is during this period that God begins to restore, to heal, to teach, to empower. And sadly enough (at least for me) somewhere in btw, when I can catch my breath, I get up and start doing the laps.

    May God help us all to come before him with openness and willingness. May He help us to sit with him and learn from Him until we are truly ready to get up. May we truly run after what matters

    May these scriptures bless you

    Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit (Jn 12:24)

    And I will lead the blind
    in a way that they do not know,
    in paths that they have not known
    I will guide them.
    I will turn the darkness before them into light,
    the rough places into level ground.
    These are the things I do,
    and I do not forsake them. (Isa 42:16)

    As we all walk through the sometimes foreign terrain of waiting on God, He will be sure to lead us, for He will NEVER, EVER forsake us. Emmanuel! Hallelujah!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 13:09:53

      Tolu, I am simply blown away by this detailed explanation. In waiting, we shed this ridiculous garment of self importance and take up the cloak of humility. Thank you for letting me see it in this way.

      Reply

  12. Sharon Salu
    May 19, 2012 @ 05:08:03

    Yes, waiting is not such a bad idea. This reminds me of that verse (James 1:4) which talks about letting Patience have its perfect work so we can be perfect lacking nothing (paraphrased). The process is agonizing, and is a lesson in trusting God. But when we jump the gun and abort the process, we often have to go back and start from square one. Patience is a virtue, but the Holy Spirit produces it in us.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 16:02:38

      I love this verse, ” Let patience have its perfect work” so much. Thank you for stopping by and am also glad you are blessed.

      Reply

  13. Unyime-Ivy King
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 18:33:31

    Interesting post Tolu -thanks for sharing. Waiting is not the easiest of things for anyone especially in this our microwave generation, lol. But waiting is a time to develop inner strength/build character. Waiting does not connote inactivity-it’s a time of learning while we expect whatever it is that we are waiting for. It is a time for God to refine, mold, and prepare us for that which we are waiting for.

    Reply

Leave a comment