Life after the miracle


It is not everyday a dead man wakes up from the grave or morgue , it is not an occasional thing for a cancer patient to be healed , it is not something common for a childless woman to miss her monthly period and carry her miracle baby. It is very rare these days to see a decade long habit break in few minutes or a hardened reprobate change in a single encounter with God. But no matter how rare these miracles are , they happen and of course to human beings , miracles from God are like rain that have been held up in the sky and suddenly let down on a  dry infertile desert , they are refreshing relief to our desperate souls.

I have been through circumstances that seemly look impossible , situations like giants that won’t just budge , habits that were so part of me that most times it looked normal to my life but in all of this , I have seen God’s hands move upon me , I have been sought out by God and miraculously saved by His grace. In weeks , I have discovered how much God can change a person , how much history  He can rewrite , how much of a destiny He can change.

After the thirst in the desert , after the scorching sun in the wilderness of the problems , suddenly the miracles come , the habit is broken , the child is born , the job is secured , the husband walks in through the door totally repentant, the wayward child becomes an instrument of God ,the  cancer suddenly becomes benign , fibroids turn to fetuses  and we  become carriers of miracles, then what happens?

This is what I have found myself in these days , I have the miracles  and suddenly pride is showing up on my doorsteps , giving me an attitude against God, am scared , so scared because I can’t sustain these miracles  without the One that  gave me the miracles in the first place. As ridiculous as it may sound , I am finding so easy to stay back in bed at 5.00 a.m instead of jumping out to praise and pray to God , the idea of watching the soap operas is becoming an option to my daily Bible study , my mind is slipping at the edge of ‘I can do it all alone’.

As I write this piece , Holy Spirit whispered into my soul to be sober and watchful for my enemy stands real close to my miracles , wanting to turn it into snares not the blessings God intended it to be . This is my prayer this morning .

Prayer: God , You know am nothing without You , am just a lump of clay without Your breath , help me to walk in You , and live in You. I surrender my life , my job , my relationships , my family ,my money , everything to You. I receive a meek heart that thirsts for You everyday.Pride has no hold on me for I am Your workmanship, help me to see my miracles as anchors in You that will forever tie me to You, let my life after the miracles be surely better than the life before the miracles in You, God.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sean
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 15:31:33

    This is awesome. I think we should always pray to God to give us the power not to forget that all the good things in our lives comes from him. Nice one girl.

    Reply

  2. Bukkie
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 15:38:33

    It is the human nature to grow complacent after every victory and believing that we deserve it anyway (Pride), this spells also the most vulnerable time to loosing the ground back to the enemy. Most time pride comes in the most subtle of way which aligns us with the most dangerous of the characters of the enemy of our soul himself. So keeping sight of the author and finsher of our faith as the real victor and been reminded of the continuous guidiance of His Holy Spirit we will continue in His fellowship. Suffix to say that this could also be a pointer to the measure of love we had for Him rather than what we proffess before our miracles because if we say we love Him we will perpectualy worship him. What can seperate us from the love of Christ?

    Reply

  3. Ayodele O
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 16:58:36

    This was part of the questions i asked myself while taking my seat at the office today… after all said and done, have I started living for myself? At the moment I am about turning to BBC to watch my next documentary (my new found addiction) midway between a sermon I had promised myself to listen to in the last 3 months. I desperately need to find my way back to my first love.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Feb 28, 2011 @ 20:39:30

      Ayo, loving God is a very conscious thing , something we must actively chase after unless we get buried in the mist of this earthly pleasures.we are helped of our Lord.

      Reply

  4. Tolulope Ilesanmi
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 17:17:25

    Tolulope, thank you for this post. I love it. This is an issue that has baffled me and that I have reflected a lot on. It is very possible for one to receive miracles and still disconnect from God. I have, a number of times and if I have any regrets, it has to do with letting my desire for God weaken after I saw major manifestations. I am changing now because now, I pursue God himself (That I may know him…) and am slowly getting to a place where I can say like my pastor in Nigeria, “God, even if you do not answer prayers again, you are still my God and I will still follow you.” Check out the children of Israel from Egypt to Canaan. I feel I should share with you some private thoughts I wrote down on this matter a while back:

    “It is very possible to experience a physical manifestation of God and still doubt. If you are waiting to see proof of God before believing, you are wasting your time. God cannot be apprehended with the senses, and spiritual realities are spiritually discerned. Sustainable revelation of God is spiritual, not physical.”

    “The Israelites left Egypt amidst wonders never before seen, they saw their enemies drown in the red sea, they had God’s physical presence in the Pillar of cloud and fire. Yet, they still forsook their deliverer and worshipped idols. You will too, if your focus is on the physical and not the Spirit, even if you see God face to face.”

    As the scriptures say, God showed his acts to the children of Israel and his ways to Moses. Moses walked with God – he and God were buddies, if you will. He could almost “advise” God, for want of a better word. He pursued God. Remember him saying, “Lord show me your glory…?” Not your works, or your gifts but your glory, your person, who you are. Only by pursuing God can we guarantee that we will remain connected to Him, because the pursuit of God is an eternal thing. I recommend the book, Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer. It’s a very small book I read and re-read when my desire for God is tempted to wane.

    In November 2010, I wrote this, http://tolulopeilesanmi.blogspot.com/2010/11/i-will-pursue-you-to-heaven.html.

    I really hope you do not mind the long comment. I feel I am writing a blog post on your blog, so let me stop here. But please feel free to ask me to summarize.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 12:45:18

      My senior namesake , i really appreciate this , this makes to remember this Psalms we used to memorise way back in nursery school , Psalms 103 ” He showed His ways to Moses and His acts to the children of Isreal”
      I will rather know the ways of God than His acts , because His ways teaches me to fear Him. thank you for your blog, it is really inspiring.

      Reply

  5. cyruswoman
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 17:27:12

    you have taken a faceless monster and given it a name and defined its character. Thanx woman. Exposed. Shamed. So now your friends know what to look out for…i have lately begun to notice what you talk of here but like a scary predictive dream its just given me the heads up. Now when i see pride’s shadow outside my door I know to denounce it…

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 12:48:37

      Cyrus, pride destroys than any other thing i this world, getting it out of our system is mainly God’s work and our willingness to lay everything at God’s feet.
      we are helped of the Lord.

      Reply

  6. tola adeyinka
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 10:02:27

    Tolu,I totally identify with this. The devil is always waiting for that slip, will want to show up cunningly in the middle of the miracle, not working in isolation. I am not taking my focus off God. That is what the devil wants. Thank you for this and take care of you.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 12:50:52

      Tola, thanks so much for commenting. the scriptures revealed to us that ”the devil, our adversary is roaming around like a lion waiting to destroy’, but we are in Christ Jesus, ”greater is He that is in us, than he in the world”
      Humility is our heritage, let’s confess it everyday

      Reply

  7. Lara Daniels
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:23:37

    This is such a beautiful post and it’s so true to our human state. Why do we become all those negative things after the miracles? Why? Why do we suddenly become arrogant and feel self-sufficient when we know that it was God that brought the miracle to us in the first place? That is why I keep a journal. I keep a journal to remind me of the hard time I was in; I date and time my journal. I always document the fear I feel in my “dark” situations. Then, the miracle happens some time later and I am out of that situation. But when the pride is about to seep in, I go back to read my journal and then I am not so proud anymore, but full of praise to the one who keeps me. God bless you Tolu!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:56:51

      Hmmmm, Lara , this is so true, pride is so inherent in human nature , but we are not of this world but of God. I will learn from you and start keeping journals to record all of God’s wonders like the people of the old used to do.
      Sister mi ,thank you for reading and commenting , really appreciated.

      Reply

    • thecyruswoman
      Mar 03, 2011 @ 23:09:08

      i love idea of keeping a journal. i have wanted to for so long but neva seem to have time. so now i journal in my phone, suffices kind of. When we remember the ruffness God took us thru, its hard to be proud because its so clearly a divine doing isnt it. i like how God keeps telling Israel after the exodus, to keep in mind what God has done and to tell it to their kids over and over so that they too carry it close to their hearts. He knew was He was on about definately

      Reply

  8. anoda phase
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 02:58:08

    Amen! I prayed that prayer too.

    Sure, it’s very easy to become swollen headed with pride after receiving our miracle, rather than staying focused on and grateful to the God of the miracle…Again, I say Amen to that prayer.

    Reply

  9. Buky of Bukville
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 14:04:46

    We are mortal flesh and we have to constantly remind ourselves not to dwell in the flesh but in the spirit.

    “For He Himself knows our frame; He is mindful that we are but dust”.

    May God continue to teach us how to number our days and to always run back to the Source of life.

    Reply

  10. Rita
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 21:03:12

    Very true…I also say the same prayer…though thanking God for His grace and mercies…

    Reply

  11. tosin
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 15:47:59

    Hmnnn, thank you for reminding me to pull the reins on my galloping horse!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 15, 2011 @ 19:28:43

      Tosin , I know God is so much in control of our lives , am so humbled to have you as a friend , we won’t ever take this God for granted

      Reply

  12. funmi
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 08:02:56

    this makes the two of us , this piece made me teary eyed , God bless you

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 18, 2011 @ 14:47:17

      Funmi, thank you and am glad that you are blessed. our christian walk is one journey we must take with all seriousness. we are helped of the Lord

      Reply

  13. Lara Daniels
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 14:31:09

    Tolu honey, I tagged you recently for the “One lovely blog award”…I know you’ve been tagged before, but I just had to tag you again just to let you know that I LOVE your blog 🙂

    Reply

  14. Dammie
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 14:43:26

    Amen and Amen to that prayer! It’s so easy to slip into self sufficiency…God help us.
    I love your blog btw!

    Reply

  15. Maidofheart
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 19:59:04

    Tolu,

    What an insightful write-up. I daresay I have been guilty of the same thing and it makes me forever grateful that God is ever loving, gracious, merciful and patient towards us.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Mar 18, 2011 @ 20:17:51

      Sister, we are at a point guilty of this, you know the devil is so subtle , wanting to destroy our testimonies by all cost , but greater is He that is in us than He that is in the world.
      thank you for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

