Baby Girl, learn the seasons


How I just love this particular verse in the Scriptures that says ‘’ To everything there is a season and time to every purpose under the heaven’’ . I have to confess that I have been acquainted with this verse since my childhood days at CAC ,Oke Alafia in Ilesha , at every quiz event in my church , I had opportunities to recite this verse but I never did knew  its meaning or how it will come to affect my life as a young woman.

As a growing young girl from the countryside ,I had so many first events that I cannot forget in a hurry , the first time was when I was taken to the nursery school, that day was memorable as I was the only girl who didn’t know how to stop crying when my dad left me . Another first event in my life was when I experienced the tingling sensation in my belly and erratic beating of my heart when my brother’s male friend looked straight at me , then I was just 9 , that was my first crush . Another first in my life was when I discovered I had the ability to bleed every month; it was such an embarrassing event because it caught me in school. Since then I have become so acquainted to series of ‘first events’, that I don’t exactly know what  midlife or end of life meant.

Fuelled with my desire to be the best in everything, I give no allowances for mistakes ,night after night   on my bed , I muse over my mapped out life , I had it all written down upon the tablet of my heart .Then if I were to be woken up from sleep to recite my life , I will have given it like this : Finish secondary school with A’s in all papers, get admitted into OAU to study Law , fall in love with the tall dark and handsome dude in Medicine , graduate with 1st Class , get married immediately after Law School ,honeymoon in the Caribbean’s , get pregnant on the wedding night , live happily ever after. Those were my dreams and desires, in all of this I neglected the One who owns the ends of the earth, I shunned His advice about times and seasons .

So in due time, the Owner of the life started showing me what time and seasons meant, He first started with my dreams of being a lawyer. Firstly, I missed admission into OAU, number 1 dream shattered; I courageously opted for the 2nd option: UNAD. I could still remember how excited I was when I was admitted into the University as a Law student , I had stars in my eyes then because being a lawyer was everything to me , I idolised this profession , thoughts of sending people to jail then rushes adrenalin into my body , but the Owner had a different idea . After two days in the Law class, I was graciously excused out of Law forever by the Vice Chancellor himself. Hence I started my journey as a literary person in English , for me to succeed here I needed to wipe off my lawyer dreams , I needed to step into the ‘Elizabethan , Soyinkan and Victorian age .

Not too long from this event , I met a young man whom I fell in love with at first sight , I could still remember those heartbeats that threatened to betray me whenever this young man comes near , this time I felt and thought these tingles, heartbeats were forever , how I loved this young man , if it were possible for a young black girl to blush , I guess I will have been given the best blusher of the year because I couldn’t just stop being attracted to this guy with the most penetrating gaze ever .

Again the Owner stepped in and clearly told me that there is a time to love and a time to hate , when I heard it didn’t make any sense as I searched for reasons why I will come to hate this my Prince Charming , even if he turned out to be a jerk , which eventually happened , I will still love him , I reasoned within myself. Sooner or later, my Prince Charming turned sadly into a frog, not just a quiet, nice frog, but a nauseating ugly frog and I had no choice than to turn away from his arms .

Seasons , seasons was all I heard whenever I took time out to tearfully pour out my heart to God , at a time I told Him to please never to bring those bad seasons again , I pleaded with Him never to allow me go through the valleys again because it is so scary and painful . He told me He allowed me to go through the pain of being rejected at Law Class because He wanted me to know that it is not a profession that makes a man but His favour.
I reluctantly agreed to this because my obsessive love with Law had disappeared but again I argued with Him about my relationship that hit the rock , when He heard this , He laughed and quietly told me ‘Woe to them that put their trust in man’. When He said this, I became ashamed of myself as I vividly remember how I idolised my ex, how my whole life revolved around him , there on my knees I begged God to let me know more about this Season’s stuff.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Omolara
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 00:27:47

    Seasons r 1 of d constants in life, may God grant us d wisdom to perceive changes in seasons & d willingness to make apt changes. Great write, God bless you.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Dec 22, 2010 @ 22:13:56

      molara, thank you so much , you are blessed , my prayer is that we will always be sensitive to God all the time, the fear of God will be so obvious in our lives.

      Reply

  2. shanday
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 21:02:03

    Nice post.
    God’s time is surely the best. He knows what is good for us. Sometimes, we get impatient and want to do things at our own timing without consulting Him. At the end of the day, He allows us to go through some disappointments in order for us to know that He’s the boss.
    You are very witty, laughing out loud about ur prince charming turning into a nauseating ugly frog. Also laughing about d adrenaline you used to get when you had thoughts of sending people to jail.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 12:27:06

      shanday, i had a rough time discovering God’s purpose for me , i wandered about looking for approval in lots of things , the walk with God is not one easy one but His grace is sufficient.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

