I had to be pierced


Months ago I went to get myself pierced, I have always had this desire to get a second ear hole , how I just love the idea of having two small earrings adorn each of   my cute ears , but I have been held back by a lot of reasons .Firstly by my parents , my dad made it very known to us(girls)in his home  when we were growing up about his aversion for jewellery of whosoever kind . My loving daddy is an adherent believer of natural beauty, he often questioned us (my sisters and I} about our unwavering love for things of this world, in his words ‘tolulope, can’t you just do without all these nonsense you put on your body, don’t you know you are more beautiful without all these eye pencils, big earrings , lip-gloss that looks like palm oil on your lips’.

Even though I have always had this innate desire to wear two earrings on each ear , I dare not try it under my father’s roof , I watch with envy other girls whose parents were lenient in this aspect . Years has various ways of softening people and obviously my daddy is not left out of this theory , he has tremendously become flexible when it comes to understanding his female children and their fashion needs , so in my home now , it’s no longer a crime to wear trousers , to have 16 inches hair  on , to pierce the second ear hole , to enjoy the flawless beauty MAC, SLEEK and MARK KAY offers.

So months ago , having thought about it over and over  , I went straight to the saloon to get a new and second ear holes . When I got there , there was a lot of excitement in me , a picture of how I will look was stuck in my mind , I could literally see it with my naked eyes. Amidst all these excitement I clearly forgot something , something that is unavoidably compulsory before I could be a proud owner of new  ear holes , I forgot the pain that comes with it , the lady that was to help me prepared me saying ‘ aunty , it’s so painful , will you be able to bear it , I just got myself pierced too and it has really been painful’.

When she said this, a fear arose within me, I momentarily thought of abandoning the whole idea of piercing, but what stopped the thought was the pleasure of belonging to the clique of ‘two ear hole holders’, what made me to be prepared , was the joy I will have after the pain , the sheer joy of having those two ear rings on each of my cute ears kept me in that chair .

So even though I was really scared of the pain to come, I knew it will be worth it , lo and behold, she started the piercing and all I could remember was my yelling. The pain of the earring pulling through my skin brought tears to my eyes , I started screaming for her to stop , she told me  to sit still for it will soon be over , the more she said this the more pain grew worse . Through this pain , I suddenly realized another dimension of Jesus’ love for me , I clearly saw Him on that tree as He put His life down  for the glory that will be revealed in the generations to come. Don’t you ever think that it was a pleasurable thing for Jesus to be pierced in all parts of His body as He laid down His Life for humanity? What I experienced in the saloon as I pierce my ears is nothing compared to the pain Jesus bore for us on the cross.

God’s love is unexplainable and incomprehensible, His love for me is so deep that to an intellectual, it looks foolish. He gave His only begotten Son for  us , not only was Jesus homeless when He was on earth , He was killed for the sins of the world.

Jesus went all through the pain , humbly submitted Himself to derision , to spite and of course to all the piercings in His hands , feet and to His head , can you imagine that pain , accompanied with these was the grievous burden of the world’s sin . Will it not be wise of us to live worthy of His calling and do away with those sins that won’t let us go.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Buky
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 02:03:53

    Tolu, I am still laughing at the thought of your screaming from the pain. Girl you must really want that 2nd ear pierced badly.

    I hope you are rocking your new look.

    Jesus paid the ultimate price for us all. He endured a pain that most of us can not even imagined.

    Thank you for sharing your painful exprience, too funny!!!

    Reply

  2. Tolu
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 16:00:45

    buky , thanks so much , piercing used to be a big issue in my family . God’s love cant be explained , it is deep and most times I dont understand , i just accept it.

    Reply

  3. temiville
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 03:25:46

    The way you related these two totally different issues is beyond amazing! Well done you…

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Dec 22, 2010 @ 22:15:55

      temi , thanks , funny thing about my new look, i still have pain but am so determined to keep this second ear loops at all cost.

      Reply

  4. lovely me
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 10:04:23

    For every funny , serious , educative story shared there is always a dimension of God’s view and perspective you add to it.

    I think that is one of the reasons why i have not been able to leave ur blog since i stopped by………….i am so falling in love with your writing skills and love for God.

    your love for Him will not dwindle

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 14:53:36

      ronke , thank you and am so glad that you were blessed, may we nevvr lose sight of God’s love and His sacrifice. God bless you, ronke

      Reply

  5. shanday
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:04:15

    Brilliant post!
    I totally relate with you on the ear piercing. My parents were not as strict as yours about piercing a 2nd hole. I decided to pierce another hole after my sister got hers done. So I braced myself and went to get it done. When I saw the needle, I was so scared but I couldn’t back out. The pain was so bad, my sis kept on saying dat I was overreactingabout d pain but I wasn’t. The funny thing is that I haven’t worn an earring in my 2nd hole in ages, I think the hole is almost blocked sef. Let’s just say, am not so psyched about it like I was back then.
    I love the analogy you made of getting your ears pierced with Jesus being pierced on the cross. Just like you looked beyond the pain and thought of the joy of having two earrings dangling from your ears, Jesus endured the pain as well because He saw into the future. At a point,He wanted to back off when He asked His Father to take the cup from Him but Jesus knew that God’s will had to be fulfilled.
    That my friends is what you call love!

    Btw, I love ur style of writing

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 14:57:43

      Shanday, i received this comment while i was still at home , preparing to come to work, as i kept on reading , i deliberately held on so i can come to the office and read,and i can only smile as i read , your sister must be one brave woman because it is indeed very painful, even after 6 months that i have pierced.
      What can say to God’s love to us, it is unexplainable and so great , my prayer this morning is that we may at least know little of the breath and lenght of His love to us, then we will live all of our lives for Him alone.

      Reply

  6. Trackback: I had to be pierced (via Rahab Memoirs’) « Rahab Memoirs'
  7. Jaycee
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 18:01:05

    It’s amazing that your story of ear piercing makes us feel a little bit of the pain even from the screen, and yet what Jesus went through for you and I was so much more painful. I thank God for His sacrifice. Happy Easter, Tolu. Beautiful post as always. 🙂

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Apr 27, 2011 @ 17:26:07

      Thank you Jaycee , we will never know how much it cost Jesus to lay down His life for us. Sometimes I feel so inadequate in this aspect.

      Reply

  8. Onimisi Roberts
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 19:02:42

    Am not a fan of ladies who pierce their ear all in d name of fashion! However, I do appreciate the way you conveyed the msg, more wisdom from above! I love your blog, ur write ups are always inspiring, am encouraged! Cheers!

    Reply

  9. Pst Dunamis
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 20:04:16

    Jesus suffered for us…and took all our pains! Great article!

    Reply

  10. snowgood
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 20:15:49

    I’m with your Dad on fashion, and with you in your sentiments and thankfulness for what Jesus has done.
    You wrapped it all up nicely at the end. I was thinking of Deuteronomy 15:17.

    Reply

  11. LD
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 03:50:12

    Oh Tolu…that was such a beautiful analogy, using your pierced ears experieince with what Christ did for us on the cross. And yes, we owe all of our lives to him seeing he had to endure so much for our sakes.

    Reply

  12. Ema
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 15:10:20

    lovely perspective…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

