I quit the slums (part 2)


After writing the 1st part and posting , I honestly did not know where the second part will come from ,I had no clue about what to write ,because all I was feeling when writing the 1st part was quiet desperation on how to get out of the slums and to be permanently banned from those mindsets that stand like mountains in my path.

Then the comments started rolling in one after the other , the red light on my phone will constantly alert me of someone’s contribution to the slum situation . As I eagerly waited for each comment, I, underneath my breath pray  to God that someone will be touched , someone’s heart will be convicted , that God will be glorified in my life and in the lives of my contributors.

Then a particular comment  casually rolled in , Jaycee replied ,but not in the usual way , she sent in the Word and it shook my very existence , surging great hope within me that am not just a lonely traveler marooned on an isolated  island but that inside of the slums there is Someone right there with me. What she sent knocked out my usual thinking that God can’t rescue me from the slums easily , I was wrong because He is with me , urging , cheering , comforting , and loving me out of those slums.

The scripture, Jaycee sent was Ezekiel 16:6-14, since she sent it , I have been looking around for various Bible translations to better explain this wonderful revelation , this morning, as I decided to write again , I finally settled for the Youth Bible Contemporary English version , I was amazed to see how much God has gone and how far he is still ready to go to save me , here is the scripture.

‘’ I saw you lying there , rolling around in your own blood and I couldn’t let you die. I took care of you , like someone  caring for a tender ,young plant. You grew up to be a beautiful young woman with perfect breasts and long hair, but you were still naked . When I saw you again, you were old enough to have sex. So I covered your naked body with My own robe, then I solemnly promised and entered into a covenant  with you, says the Lord God and you became mine. Then I bathed you with water and washed off  your blood from you and anointed you with oil’’.

This amazes me , how tender , loving , compassionate my God is , he’s not standing outside of the slums waiting for my exit , He is right inside looking for as many as will turn to Him even in their pains and disillusionment. What a great message this is , that no matter how far we’ve gone in sins , God is always able to bring us out. He is the changer of destiny , the rewriter of history , the author and the finisher of my faith , without Him I don’t exist. I don’t want a life without Him in it, I don’t want a home that He is not heading. This day , with my hands around His neck , God is carrying me out of the slums , looking from His shoulders, I saw the devil and cohorts gnashing because they’ve lost me forever.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ibifiri
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:19:17

    lovely.

    Reply

  2. Bomi
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:23:43

    Amen and Amen. Thanks for sharing sis!!

    Reply

  3. Jaycee
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 15:25:57

    Praise God!!!! This scripture shows us how caring our Father is. Thanks so much for sharing, T :)

    Reply

  4. Tolulope Ilesanmi
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:37:01

    For a while now, I have been reflecting on the one characteristic of God that trumps all others, and I think it is Love. God’s love defines Him much more than His power does because His power, wisdom, and every other thing He is, is in the service of Love. And that Love means us. I can never get over it. This All Wise, Almighty, Creator and Sustainer of the Universe loves me individually. Philip Yancey, whose book, “What is so amazing about grace” I highly recommend said, “There is nothing you can do to make God love you less. There is nothing you can do to make God love you more.” He loved and loves us in our sin, in spite of our imperfections. It brings tears to one’s eyes when you think of Holy Holy Holy holding you and clothing you with a robe of righteousness you do not deserve to wear. You wrote it beautifully. Thank you and thanks to Jaycee for the scripture. By the way, another book I highly recommend is “Abba’s Child” – beautiful, regarding grace.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:50:15

      Tolulope, I don’t really know what to say, you said it all. The love of God is the ultimate and that the our spiritual eyes should be opened. thanks , when is your blog coming out.

      Reply

      • Tolulope Ilesanmi
        Feb 09, 2011 @ 07:49:21

        There was a post on Sunday – Mystery of weakness and the new Provocations page contains provocative thoughts. I assume you did not get the latest post. Have you subscribed? Let me know if you are unable to access them.

  5. ayo
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 20:48:24

    hello tolu
    how are you?
    Gods love for us is unfailing. He stays faithful to us despite our shortcomings and he is always willing to lead or guide us from the point were we strayed or temporarily lose focus.
    besides he supports us each time and his banner over us is love
    always remember he is there all the time!!
    take care and enjoy the rest of the day

    Reply

  6. Abayomi
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 22:38:55

    Tolu,

    Great write up again. I quite love the angle from which you looked at it. God’s love for us is a mystery that as far as I am concerned, I am not ready to find the root, all I am doing is to enjoy it to the fullest.

    The great thing is that HIS love is everywhere and available to all man.

    Cheers!!!

    imoyaba.wordpress.com

    Reply

  7. Aderemi Awe
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 10:04:25

    Tolulope, this is a befitting ending to a most gripping and compelling Note. God bless.

    Reply

  8. Buky
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 12:48:48

    Only God can cover our nakedness and restores all that we previously lost. I am so glad that in the end we all return back to our very first love, Almighty.

    He is patience and kind. With a mighty hand and outstretched arm; His love endures forever (PS136:12)

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 20:14:20

      yes, it is only God that can help us in our infirmities , sister mi, i will save this God forever, as for me and my man , kids, grandkids will serve the Lord

      Reply

  9. Cyrus woman
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 19:42:56

    Like everything else,quitting the slums is all abt him and the undeserved love he has for us. I love the exodus story bcoz Israel came out with not just riches but non-Israelite pipo who favor rubbed off on.now that Grace has found you,how big is your list of exodus sharers?just a thot.brilliant post as always,love.keep on

    Reply

  10. lovely me
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 06:50:31

    Amazing!

    God is always there to carry us, he only needs us to be willing.

    God bless you Tolu.
    God bless Jaycee too.

    Reply

  11. temiville
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 14:12:39

    Tolu and Jaycee, you guys are on fire oh. That has really blessed me. I pray that we would keep on yielding ourselves to be carried by God because t is one thing for Him to extend His hands and another thing for us to go to Him…

    God bless you both.x

    Reply

  12. Dapo
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 15:34:07

    Congrats for the revelation. It is always necessary we keep in mind that He is there all the way.

    Reply

  13. Bukkie
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 11:34:50

    What else can i say you nailed it again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

