My age status


There is something about ‘age’ that makes it a phenomenon of all times , it is a mystery that got people of all races ticking and uncomfortable , because it daily points them to the grave. This age happens to everyone and it’s certainly happening to me now, here and then I hear my bones creak refusing to do things , it never complained of years ago ,age is dropping so many changes on my doorsteps. Whenever it happens –I mean age- we are often faced with two choices ;either we accept the changes and wisely adjust to it or we become grizzly bears and complain endlessly about how unfair time has been to us.

As a female of a petite stature, I have often considered myself a ‘late bloomer’, a term used for people that find it rather difficult to start things in life , people that spend years dancing around the pot rather sitting down and eat from the pot.

Whenever I gist with friends and they ask me about my plans for the future , I am always quick to lecture them about this peculiar system , and I will go on and on about my late entry into adolescence, how I waited like Princess Fiona on the castle towers for my puberty , how I patiently waited for my first toaster as it did not come in High school as expected ,so I can have something to talk about when my teenage friends blab about theirs .I will sadly go down memory lane of how for five consecutive Valentine years , I was a spectator on the street called love and how I eagerly waited for the feet popping kiss.

Before you crucify me about the feet popping kiss, I have no apology that am a die hard romantic , I still believe in erratic heart beats , tingling toes , sinking tummies and of course earth stopping , mountain moving kisses between me and my man , that is a subject for another day.


This year I will be a year older , and am suddenly aware that am no longer that starry eyed teenager, I am now a responsible taxpaying young lady , and I must in every way rise up to the task dropped to my doorstep. My age this year is making me discover lots of things like suddenly realizing that ‘Love at first sight’ is a just a piece of shit I ingested from those dumb paperback romances I spent my teenage years reading . Surprising this year , the knowledge that no matter how much I bend for people , they can’t all like me is being corroborated . This 26th year of my existence , I am seriously assured that prayer works and for it be a habit , it must be done all the time even when I don’t feel like it and that in this world , there are lots of bad people and I can be one if I don’t hold on to the Only One (Jesus Christ) that can only fill my heart with so much love for Him and my fellow humans. This year , am discovering that age is slowly catching up on me and I must in every way become a God chaser , regardless of my ‘late bloomer’ status.

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ADEREMI AWE
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 17:40:36

    “Teach us to number our days, that we should apply our hearts to wisdom…” Tolulope, ife Oluwa lo maa se lori gbogbo wa, amin. God bless.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 19:23:30

      bros mi, amin ooooo, we will finish strong in Jesus name . lots of people avoid the subject’ age’ , it is not something we run away from , we must put our hearts to it and ask God to strengthen us.

      Reply

  2. Rev dunamis
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 18:35:59

    Tolu, this is a great article. Keep it up!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 19:25:27

      sir , thanks for today , i have a strong feeling that my family in future have a lot to learn from you and sis Sophia. thanks for reading , hope you are blessed.

      Reply

  3. Jennifer Abayowa (Jaycee)
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 22:07:15

    All our self-discoveries are beautiful in themselves. This post just reinforces the point that we can’t measure ourselves by our peers, but only by the yardstick of the word of God. Each of us have different times to accomplish victories, so the best thing in life is just to be a ‘God-chaser,’ like you put it.

    I enjoyed reading this. Lol. I’m still a hardcore romantic, 26 years or not. :)

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 12:40:05

      Jaycee, thanks , how are you doing? i am seriously learning to take my eyes away from the crowd and their accomplishments and focus on God , because when it’s my time , it won’t be my fault.
      p.s:never stop being a romantic, sis.lol

      Reply

  4. lovely me
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 08:09:59

    Beautiful write up Tolu.

    I read some part of this write up on FB and i had to trace you to this place to read the concluding part.(i am glad i did)

    It is a wonderful one from you girl……its a topic most people don’t want to talk about.
    I am glad you are bold enough to talk about it.
    May God bless you and increase you this new year of yours and may he answer all your heart desires according to His will.
    God bless you !!!!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 12:46:11

      ronke, lol , i traced you to facebook too, thanks for commenting. Age is something to be ashamed of , rather we should be grateful to God that thus far He has brought us.

      Reply

  5. adeteju ajimotokan
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 09:31:37

    nice one tolu
    very touching
    i particularly liked these lines-“I am seriously assured that prayer works and for it be a habit , it must be done all the time even when I don’t feel like it …”
    thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 13:04:31

      Adeteju, it is always nice to have you comment on the posts, how are you doing? sister , am an example of the saying ‘prayer works’ it does all the time, it’s just that prayer has a companion called ‘Patience’ , most times we have to really wait on God and be aligned to His will for our lives.

      Reply

  6. Buky
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 19:19:05

    Nice one beautiful Tolu, age is nothing but a number. Its about how you feel on the inside that matters.

    We should all embrace our age no matter what it is. I dont feel a day over 25yrs old and dont know what people in my age bracket are suppose to feel like.

    I guess what is important is to be doing what you want to do today and everyday.

    @Jaycee – excellent comment, i couldnt agree with you more.

    http://bukville.com/

    Reply

  7. Tolu
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 20:02:37

    sister mi , i agree , my colleague was still saying it yesterday that sometimes she feels she is talking to a 15 year old teenager anytime she talks with me because of my vibrant nature.i thank God for that.

    Reply

  8. Onimisi Roberts
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 20:51:30

    Am encouraged by your write-up, and the comments afterwards. It is inspiring. I refuse to subject myself to any form of comparism as per what my peers have accomplished.
    Am getting addicted to ur blog, well, am told not every addiction is a bad thing!!

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:11:59

      Onimisi, it is so nice having you on the blog, am glad you are blessed, there is a place in the Bible that says ‘ Comparing themselves with themselves, they are fools’. God has time for everyone of us , He can’t forget any of us , i pray we will be patient enough to wait for Him because He’ s always on time.
      thanks
      you can please subscribe

      Reply

  9. Lara Daniels
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:22:42

    Tolu, this is really good and I was blessed by it as much as I know others too will. As par you being a hopeless romantic, please never give up on your romantic heart. Have you read the book of Isiah/Jeremiah lately? Wow…talk about God’s passionate heart beating madly for his people whom he loves so much and who have failed him. We have a romantic God, never lose sight of that, ever! And as par the age thing…I am glad you mentioned that you’ve learned about pleasing people …it just never is ever worth it. You please God…no matter what. God bless you Tolu, and please continue to be an encouragement to us all.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 14:01:32

      Lara, am so glad that you were blessed , and for my romantic streak, i am still holding on to it ,and please when can i get the copy of your book, am itching to read . Lara, thanks , for always checking up the blog.

      Reply

  10. myne Whitman
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 20:56:10

    Totally agree with some of the other commenters especially Jaycee and Lara. Just be yourself, and don’t stop being a romantic too. Every good thing will come in it’s God’s appointed time.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 21:17:45

      Myne, it is such a great honour to have you write on my blog, God bless you. thanks , i wont stop being a romantic, am so waiting on God.

      Reply

  11. adeshina
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 09:34:33

    tolu.its really good you are able to recognised that soon. that age has no barriers that can stop or put it to a halt expect death.the way we all live our life each moment matter most in life.good you know to be on God side is the safest.and your heart makes you young or old not by number.great piece.

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 14:20:21

      i love this ‘ To know God is the safest and wisest way to live’, adeshina , we will never be castaways no matter how hard it may be in Jesus name.

      Reply

  12. shanday
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:11:55

    Tolu, i absolutely love this post.
    Yea, age is nothing but a number!
    God indeed has a plan and purpose for everyone. My pastor said something that is so true. He said that in this race called life, people have different journeys. For some, their journey is a sprint, while for others it’s a marathon. What is important is for us to have Jesus cheering on us as we go. Romantic novels and movies give a distorted view of what love is. I don’t believe in love at first sight either. I believe that love is an emotion that grows over time. I am a hopeful romantic lolz. I believe that there’s someone rite for everyone, we just have to shine our eyes lol, and ask God to lead us aright. God is love.

    Blessed thoughts,
    http://www.shanday.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:25:00

      Shanday, thanks for the comment. How are you doing? Your pastor is a wise man , the journey of life is so personal and individual that to compare oneself with another is foolishness. though it is not always easy to see other people accomplish that very thing one is praying to God earnestly for , it takes patience and total reliance on God to be sane during these trying times.
      I believe a marriage should be full of love, joy and excitement , it adds flavor to it. my prayer is that we will grow daily in God’s love .

      Reply

  13. ibifiri
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:02:57

    Lovely post and i love it.. yes don’t ever stop being a romantic. i am a romantic and i think i will continue to be a romantic till my dying day..Keep up the good work and i love the pictures on your blog.. a new follower…..www.secretlilies.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:23:12

      Ibifiri, thank you so much, am so humbled and honoured to have you on the blog,God bless you, we will finish strong , no matter what we are going through now. Am still a romantic , die hard one for that matter. thanks for liking the pictures , if you want access to the pictures for use, please contact me , i will send the link to you.
      am on your blog now, will love to have you on the blog over and over.

      Reply

  14. temiville
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 01:06:13

    Tolu please don’t stop believing in love at first sight!!!! It still happens oh. As per the age thing, hmmn my sister, wetin we for do na? Don’t worry, it shall be well. Growing old scares me sometimes but this is just the enemy’s ploy to hide the gift of God upon our lives. God has been so so so good to us. So many people wished they lived to see their 26th.

    I love you and your blog!!! Keep dishing it as real as ever.

    God bless you.xoxo

    Reply

    • Tolu
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:19:15

      Temi, thanks a lot , God bless you. of course i wont stop believing in love, maybe not love at first sight. amen , it is well and Yes , God has been faithful to us. amen

      Reply

  15. tola adeyinka
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 11:21:39

    Th age issue. I used to have these panic attacks any time my birthday approaches.Why? The clock does not stop because of me. So many outstanding items on my list. But it is well. I am assured that there is a “God clock” . I enjoyed your blog. Your humour is infectious. Be good.

    Reply

  16. ibidunni
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 08:26:44

    This is so nice tolu,there is need to enlighten people on how to gracefully embrace our looks the older we get,with all these craziness for plastic surgery and reconstruction going on ,it might be difficult but am sure someone somewhere is searching for this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

